top of page
Sagittale TH staining

Our team

Our team is multidisciplinary and cooperative. We have 3 research professionals to ensure optimal functioning and to help students with their projects. We adhere to the principles of equity, diversity and inclusion and encourage any motivated and talented student to contact us.

VR_edited.jpg

Véronique Rioux, M.Sc

Research professional

Véronique is originally from eastern Quebec. She holds a master's degree in neurobiology from Laval University. She has worked in the laboratory since it opened and is the main coordinator of our research.

  • LinkedIn

Anne-Marie Castonguay, Ph.D

Research professional

Anne-Marie is originally from eastern Quebec. She holds a master's degree and a doctorate in neuroscience from Laval University. Her research focuses on the discovery of new therapeutic targets for Parkinson's disease, with an emphasis on immunotherapy and gene therapy techniques.

  • LinkedIn
Annamarie-1-4.jpg
xIMG_2916.jpg

Modesto Peralta, B.Sc

Research professional

Modesto is originally from the United States. He works part-time for the laboratory and is responsible for some mouse experiments and for the coordination with the animal facility.

Julia Obergasteiger, Ph.D

Postdoc

Julia is from northern Italy. She holds a master's degree in molecular and developmental biology as well as a doctorate in translational neuroscience and nanotechnology from the University of Ferrara. Her research focuses on the roles of autophagy in the pathophysiology of Parkinson's disease and the identification of new therapeutic targets.

  • LinkedIn
julia02_edited.jpg
charles sarrau.jpg

Charles Gora, M.Sc

Ph.D student

Charles is from the north of France. He holds a master's degree in neuroscience from the University of Rouen Normandy. His doctorate focuses on the regulation of the axonal translatome in the dopaminergic circuit during development.

  • researchgate
  • LinkedIn

Victoria Soto, M.Sc

Ph.D student

Victoria is originally from Peru. She holds a bachelor's degree in biology from Burman University in Alberta, and a master's degree in neuroscience from Université Laval. Her PhD project aims to develop retinal and microbial biomarkers for the early detection of Parkinson's disease.

  • researchgate
  • LinkedIn
IMG_1797_edited.jpg
owen sarrau.jpg

Owen Ferguson, M.Sc

Ph.D student

Owen is originally from Kingston, Ontario. He completed a B.Sc. in Neuroscience with a minor in Mathematics at McMaster University, Hamilton. He went on to complete a master's degree in biophotonics at Université Laval. His Ph.D project involves evaluating nanoscale mitochondrial alterations in human cellular models of Parkinson's disease.

Beatriz Lucumi, MD

Ph.D student

Beatriz is originally from Colombia. She holds a medical degree from the Universidad del Valle, Cali. She has been pursuing her PhD in neuroscience since 2022, and her project involves the development of fused organoids of mesencephalon and striatum as a translational model for Parkinson's disease.  

  • LinkedIn
IMG_1806_edited.jpg
Louis_edited.png

Louis Baillot, M.Sc

Ph.D student

Louis is originally from France. He completed his bachelor's and master's degrees in neuroscience and applied physiology at Lorraine University. His project involves developing a cell replacement therapy for Parkinson's disease by promoting the survival and integration of transplanted neurons.

  • LinkedIn

Laura M Bevilacqua, M.Sc

Ph.D student

Laura completed a master's degree in neuroscience in the Translational Neuroscience Laboratory at the Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina, Brazil. Her doctoral project involves understanding stress-induced inflammation and the underlying neurovascular dysfunctions that contribute to depressive symptoms in Parkinson's disease.

  • LinkedIn
LauraMBevilacqua_MLpicture_edited.png
Angie_edited.png

Angie Milena, M.Sc

Ph.D student

Angie is originally from Colombia. She holds a master's degree in biochemistry from the Universidad Nacional de Colombia. Her PhD project aims to develop FAB antibodies against alpha-synuclein as a therapeutic strategy for Parkinson's disease. 

  • LinkedIn

Lori Hazel, M.Sc

Ph.D. student

Lori is originally from Montreal. She holds a BA in psychology from Concordia University, in Montreal. She also completed a master's degree in psychology at the prestigious Princeton University. Her research project aims to understand the organization and function of various dopaminergic subcircuits in the brain using genetic and imaging techniques. 

IMG_3795.jpg

Béatrice Morin, B.Sc

Master's student

Béatrice is originally from Trois-Rivière, Quebec. She obtained a bachelor's degree in biomedical sciences from Laval University and is now pursuing her master's degree in neuroscience. His research focuses on the development of super-resistant neurons for cell replacement therapy.

sarrau.JPG
IMG_1783_edited.jpg

Yahia Karioun, B.Pharm

Master's student

Yahia is originally from Morocco. He holds a degree in pharmacy from the Universidad Europea in Madrid. His master's project involves using transsynaptic viral approaches to study and better understand the functional anatomy of dopaminergic circuits.

  • LinkedIn
IMG_1791_edited.jpg

Sothary Ly, B.Sc

Master's student

Sothary completed her bachelor's degree in microbiology and immunology at the Université de Montréal. Her master's degree aims to create a cell line to monitor the expression of the RIT2 GTPase, and to carry out a molecular screening to modulate its expression and combat the degeneration associated with Parkinson's disease.

  • LinkedIn
IMG_0819_edited.jpg

Julien McClish, B.Sc.A

Étudiant à la maîtrise

Julien is originally from Quebec City. He completed his bachelor's degree in Natural Environments and Landscaping at Laval Université. His master's project aims to use CRISPRa/i techniques to directly convert astrocytes into dopaminergic neurons in vivo.

Louis_greffe(hNCAM-magenta)_TH(cyan).png
bottom of page

top of page
Sagittale TH staining

Notre équipe

Notre équipe est multidisciplinaire et coopérative. Nous avons 3 professionnel(le)s de recherche pour assurer un fonctionnement optimal et pour aider les étudiants dans leurs projets. Nous adhérons aux principes d'équité, de diversité et d'inclusion et encourageons tout étudiant motivé et talentueux à nous contacter.

VR_edited.jpg

Véronique Rioux, M.Sc

Professionnelle de recherche

Véronique est originaire du Bas-St-Laurent, au Québec. Elle détient une maîtrise en neurobiologie de l'Université Laval. Elle travaille dans le laboratoire depuis l'ouverture de celui-ci et en est la coordinatrice.

  • LinkedIn

Anne-Marie Castonguay, Ph.D

Professionnelle de recherche

Anne-Marie est originaire du Bas-St-Laurent. Elle détient une maîtrise et un doctorat en neurosciences de l'Université Laval. Ses recherches portent sur les nouvelles cibles thérapeutiques pour la maladie de Parkinson, avec une emphase sur l'immunothérapie et les techniques de thérapie génique.

  • LinkedIn
Annamarie-1-4.jpg
xIMG_2916.jpg

Modesto Peralta, B.Sc

Professionnel de recherche

Modesto est originaire des États-Unis. Il travaille à temps partiel pour le laboratoire et est responsable de certaines expériences sur les souris et de la coordination avec l'animalerie.

Julia Obergasteiger, Ph.D

Chercheuse postdoctorale

Julia est originaire du nord de l'Italie. Elle détient une maîtrise en biologie moléculaire et du développement ainsi qu'un doctorat en neurosciences translationnelles et en nanothechnologies de l'Université de Ferrara. Ses recherches sont axées sur les rôles de l'autophagie dans la pathophysiologie de la maladie de Parkinson et sur l'identification de nouvelles cibles thérapeutiques. 

  • LinkedIn
julia02_edited.jpg
charles sarrau.jpg

Charles Gora, M.Sc

Étudiant au doctorat

Charles est originaire du nord de la France. Il détient une maîtrise en neurosciences de l'Université de Rouen Normandie. Son doctorat porte sur la régulation du translatome axonal dans le circuit dopaminergique durant le développement. 

  • researchgate
  • LinkedIn

Victoria Soto, M.Sc

Étudiante au doctorat

Victoria est originaire du Pérou. Elle a un baccalauréat en biologie de l'Université Burman, en Alberta, et une maîtrise en neurosciences de l'Université Laval. Son projet de doctorat vise à mettre au point des biomarqueurs rétiniens et microbiens pour la détection précoce de la maladie de Parkinson.

  • researchgate
  • LinkedIn
IMG_1797_edited.jpg
owen sarrau.jpg

Owen Ferguson, M.Sc

Étudiant au doctorat

Owen est originaire de Kingston, Ontario. Il a complété un baccalauréat en neurosciences avec une mineure en mathématiques à l'Université McMaster, Hamilton. Il a ensuite poursuivi ses études à la maîtrise, puis au doctorat en biophotonique à l'Université Laval. Son projet consiste à l'évaluation des altérations mitochondriales nanométriques dans des modèles cellulaires humains de la maladie de Parkinson.

Beatriz Lucumi, MD

Étudiante au doctorat

Beatriz est originaire de la Colombie. Elle détient un diplôme de médecine de l'Universidad del Valle, Cali. Elle poursuit son doctorat en neurosciences depuis 2022 et son projet consiste au développement d'organoïdes fusionnés de mésencéphale et de striatum comme modèle translationnel pour la maladie de Parkinson. 

  • LinkedIn
IMG_1806_edited.jpg
Louis_edited.png

Louis Baillot, M.Sc

Étudiant au doctorat

Louis est originaire de France. Il a complété son baccalauréat et sa maîtrise en neurosciences et physiologie appliquée à l'Université Lorraine. Son projet consiste au développement d'une thérapie de remplacement cellulaire pour la maladie de Parkinson en promouvant la survie et l'intégration des neurones transplantés.

  • LinkedIn

Laura M Bevilacqua, M.Sc

Étudiante au doctorat

Laura a complété une maîtrise en neurosciences dans le Laboratoire de Neurosciences Translationnelles à l'Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina, au Brésil. Son projet de doctorat consiste à comprendre l'inflammation induite par le stress et les dysfonctions neurovasculaires sous-jacentes qui contribuent aux symptômes dépressifs dans la maladie de Parkinson. 

  • LinkedIn
LauraMBevilacqua_MLpicture_edited.png
Angie_edited.png

Angie Milena, M.Sc

Étudiante au doctorat

Angie est originaire de la Colombie. Elle détient une maîtrise en biochimie de l'Universidad Nacional de Colombia. Son projet de doctorat vise à développer des anticorps de type FAB  contre l'alpha-synucléine comme stratégie thérapeutique pour la maladie de Parkinson.

  • LinkedIn

Lori Hazel, M.Sc

Étudiante au doctorat

Lori est originaire de Montréal. Elle détient un baccalauréat en psychologie de l'Université Concordia, à Montréal. Elle a également obtenu une maîtrise en psychologie de la prestigieuse Université Princeton. Son projet de recherche vise à comprendre l'organisation et la fonction des divers sous-circuits dopaminergiques dans le cerveau en utilisant des techniques génétiques et d'imagerie.

IMG_3795.jpg

Béatrice Morin, B.Sc

Étudiante à la maîtrise

Béatrice est née à Trois-Rivière, au Québec. Elle a obtenu un baccalauréat en sciences biomédicales de l'Université Laval et poursuit maintenant son parcours à la maîtrise en neurosciences. Ses recherches sont axées sur la mise au point de neurones super-résistants pour la thérapie de remplacement cellulaire dans la maladie de Parkinson.

sarrau.JPG
IMG_1783_edited.jpg

Yahia Karioun, B.Pharm

Étudiant à la maîtrise

Yahia est originaire du Maroc. Il a un diplôme de pharmacie de l'Universidad Europea du Madrid. Son projet de maîtrise consiste à utiliser des approches virales transsynaptiques afin d'étudier et de mieux comprendre l'anatomie fonctionnelle des circuits dopaminergiques.

  • LinkedIn
IMG_1791_edited.jpg

Sothary Ly, B.Sc

Étudiante à la maîtrise

Sothary a complété son baccalauréat en microbiologie et immunologie à l'Université de Montréal. Sa maîtrise vise à créer une lignée cellulaire pour suivre l'expression de la GTPase RIT2, et à faire un criblage moléculaire pour moduler son expression et combattre la dégénérescence associée à la maladie de Parkinson.

  • LinkedIn
IMG_0819_edited.jpg

Julien McClish, B.Sc.A

Étudiant à la maîtrise

Julien est originaire de Québec. Il a complété son baccalauréat en Environnements naturels et aménagers à l'Université Laval. Son projet de maîtrise vise à utiliser des techniques de CRISPRa/i pour permettre la conversion directe d'astrocytes en neurones dopaminergiques in vivo.

Louis_greffe(hNCAM-magenta)_TH(cyan).png
bottom of page